Love to be an advocate – hate to say goodbye

Today has been an interesting day. It’s also been a sad day.

A really wonderful person left our faculty today to take on bigger and better things elsewhere. It’s great for her and sad for me. She is one of life’s inspirers. She believes all things are possible, we just have to look hard enough for the solution. These people are rare and it hurts when they go. But thank you. You know who you are.

The interesting bit has been from another amazing person in my life. She sent me a link to something which in turn led me to something else. Both of which are interesting. But what’s amazing about it is how this person always serendipitously puts information in my lap at the exact time I need it. She is amazing that way. In other ways too but that’s the bit I appreciate today.

But why is this amazing? It’s amazing because today at work was a day where you forget why you’re there and both the links above remind me of the point. It’s my job to help academics see education in a different light. I don’t necessarily have to tell the light to see, but I need to help them see there are lights other than the one they currently shine. It’s my job to showcase technology and best practice. It’s my job to create obvious links for them and their own teaching philosophies. It is also my job to advocate for them.

Had a couple of meetings today which again highlighted the systemic issues within the business structure itself. I’ve done a few posts (pace of change; infrastructure; miscommunication; others I haven’t linked) in relation to the challenges I am finding in the business itself that hold academics back. I now realise that it’s my role to be their voice in the quagmire that is the business. I’m not conceited to think I can make the changes, but I do know that if I talk to enough people enough times I can wear the right people down so that they go and talk to the people who can make the change.  I can help academics at their elbow, but I think I can also help them at the ‘big table’. I might not get a seat, but I can annoy the people who do! Hmmmm……now to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

The Piping Shrike

A perspective on Australian politics

Further Tales of Adventure From Our Glamorous Rural Lifestyle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

Fighters Circle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Connect. Lead. Change.

Reflections of an ICT teacher of the online generation.

Haas | Learning

Searching for Signals Amidst the Noise

e-Literate

What We Are Learning About Online Learning...Online

degrees of fiction

Mythopoetics, secondary English and early-career teaching

