The Price of Freedom is Eternal Vigilance

My husband got very excited when I asked him for the exact wording of the quote above. It led to a range of information I didn’t really need. However it also found that apparently this quote is misattributed to Thomas Jefferson when in fact it was Leonard Courtney. My husband likes to look up stuff. His google-fu is strong.

Anyway, back to why I wanted that quote. I have a lot of freedom in my current job. A lot. More than I think I’ve ever had before. And today I realised that to be free, I have to be vigilant. I’ve strayed from the path of who I am (a nerdy control freak) to embrace the euphoric creativity that arises when there is no project plan! I have seen the glory that arises when there is organic growth of ideas that are free to explore the space with no bounds. Today, I saw the down side. Today I understood that vigilance is needed to give me freedom.

It arises because the pressure has come off a bit giving me time to actually do all the tasks on my list. (Yes, well, there’s no plan but it doesn’t mean I haven’t made a list – or three…) And I’m finding that I need people to do their part of the plan for my parts to work. And well, they haven’t. This leads to a lack of freedom now. We can no longer explore ideas because we need to finish the first idea for the second one to exist. It’s like we’ve all said “yeah! let’s bake a cake it can have chocolate inside and be square and it will be cool” and now people are saying “yeah let’s make icing, it can have flowers and pink colour and it will be cool” but, well, we have no cake. Why are we thinking about icing when we have no cake.

So people, I will be returning to vigilance. My lists will become a plan and I will be asking for completion. I’m sorry, but I want you to be free with new ideas. To do that, we need to work too. Yay Freedom!

Leave a Reply

The Piping Shrike

A perspective on Australian politics

Further Tales of Adventure From Our Glamorous Rural Lifestyle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

Fighters Circle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Connect. Lead. Change.

Reflections of an ICT teacher of the online generation.

Haas | Learning

Searching for Signals Amidst the Noise

e-Literate

What We Are Learning About Online Learning...Online

degrees of fiction

Mythopoetics, secondary English and early-career teaching

