Oh! It’s different!

Yesterday I was working on presenting a Word document into Powtoon to demonstrate to academics different media in presenting information. Basically I’m trying to model the type of actions the project I’m working on is trying to bring about.

Anyway, I start by putting the same text of the document into the multimedia. I get to ‘slide’ 4 and am completely struggling. Why am I struggling? What is the mental barrier? Why isn’t this doing what I want it to do?

I go for a walk, get some water. and think.

Then, it happens. That moment where it all comes together. Oh! It’s different! Different media means different delivery. Don’t cut and paste from the document, think about the message in the document and then present it in the multimedia format!

Then it all falls into place. The message is the same – combine your delivery styles, don’t just use the same approach all the time, but it’s told in two very different ways. This of course has flow on effects for my thinking. We are asking academics to adopt new delivery techniques but have we told them that this means thinking about their message in a different way? Do we need to or will they just know? How do we scaffold this so that they can do it? I work with ICT a lot and it took me a while to do the brain shift (and I’ve done it before!!!). How do we best support people for whom this is a whole new experience?

Seriously – the more I think about this, the more I can see opportunities to support staff. But how do I do that with just me? Hmmm….to find out what I can leverage where!

Leave a Reply

The Piping Shrike

A perspective on Australian politics

Further Tales of Adventure From Our Glamorous Rural Lifestyle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

Fighters Circle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Connect. Lead. Change.

Reflections of an ICT teacher of the online generation.

Haas | Learning

Searching for Signals Amidst the Noise

e-Literate

What We Are Learning About Online Learning...Online

degrees of fiction

Mythopoetics, secondary English and early-career teaching

