I realised something about time

It’s been ten days since my last post and I was hoping to be posting at least every second day. I was thinking today about why it’s been so long. I think I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s about time.

When I get busy I forget to take time to reflect. You come home, you’re knackered and the thought of writing down what happened at work, let alone effectively reflect on what happened before writing seems, well, crazy. (I think that explains a bit about this post truth be told!)

However when I’m busy and caught up is the time to be stepping back and reflecting. Some amazing stuff has happened in the last 10 days including an awesome day learning about what other people are doing in the eLearning space and amazing work being done by academics at the university that continues to inspire and awe me.

For example, one academic has asked if we can start an undergraduate incubator for the students studying the entrepreneurship degree after they have put forward a proposal. This would be entirely online but provide students with a range of tools and mentors who could support them with a start up. How cool is that??? Now, can we actually do it?

But I’ve not been posting because I’ve been busy. I’m forgetting to stop and smell the flowers. I think this makes me less effective in my work and makes the busy, well, just busy. So tonight I’m tired and not able to think much more than I have, but I’m going to post again soon with a bit more analysis. Because I really think something’s coming together in my head about why we teach and why we learn, it just needs to percolate a bit longer. (And I need to be less tired!)

Leave a Reply

The Piping Shrike

A perspective on Australian politics

Further Tales of Adventure From Our Glamorous Rural Lifestyle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

Fighters Circle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Connect. Lead. Change.

Reflections of an ICT teacher of the online generation.

Haas | Learning

Searching for Signals Amidst the Noise

e-Literate

What We Are Learning About Online Learning...Online

degrees of fiction

Mythopoetics, secondary English and early-career teaching

