Scale as a driver for change

I’ve been thinking the last couple of days of carrot and sticks and horses and water.

We have some teachers with 1300 students a year and others with 100. This is because of the topic of the content, core unit versus elective, undergraduate or postgraduate and so on. I think I’m discovering that the larger the volume of students the greater the incentive to get online because you can begin to automate a percentage of your marking.

So the carrot. Do we make units larger as an incentive or can I make the automation of marking a carrot for everyone?

Sticks are not a goer. With this scale of change management and culture shift, I don’t perceive a role for the stick. This might be obvious for people, but for me, who is used to legislative sticks, it’s plain weird. It’s an epiphany really. This job is about what I can do for others. Seriously. I’m from the faculty and I’m here to help you. Weird….

And lastly, I’m still thinking about students and engagement. I’m still stuck on horses and water…..suggestions welcome…….

 

Leave a Reply

The Piping Shrike

A perspective on Australian politics

Further Tales of Adventure From Our Glamorous Rural Lifestyle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

Fighters Circle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Connect. Lead. Change.

Reflections of an ICT teacher of the online generation.

Haas | Learning

Searching for Signals Amidst the Noise

e-Literate

What We Are Learning About Online Learning...Online

degrees of fiction

Mythopoetics, secondary English and early-career teaching

