Training – the best support you can get

At the end of last week I went to a presentation by Helen Lynch from CSU. There was some really great ideas relating to knowledge management and how to share the lesson content in support of teachers. But here I want to express how she clarified my thoughts about training. She talked about the training of staff in relation to ICT use. Not just the new products and processes that formed part of the knowledge management, but also basic ICT. The skills that most of us (who work with ICT) take for granted. This was simply something I hadn’t thought of. How can academics put their content online if they don’t know you can click and drag content in Word rather than cut and paste. They don’t know that Excel can sometimes be a better tool to use than Word for large data management. That they don’t know you can use cell referencing instead of just as a calculator. Basics.

What does this mean for me? It means that I think I need to do a little re-focussing of my priorities. Instead of focussing on making sure I get the right colour traffic light on my status list, I’m going to put together a training program. Helen runs her training every Wednesday afternoon. I like that idea. Not sure how she runs it, but I think I’ve got an idea.

Come, learn about whatever you want, but this week we’ll focus on “topic X”. Maybe the casual approach will help encourage everyone to learn some basics and then maybe they can teach me some advanced aspects! (I only know to do basics – perhaps that’s worth mentioning…..). Anyway, one more thing to think about!

Leave a Reply

The Piping Shrike

A perspective on Australian politics

Further Tales of Adventure From Our Glamorous Rural Lifestyle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

Fighters Circle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Connect. Lead. Change.

Reflections of an ICT teacher of the online generation.

Haas | Learning

Searching for Signals Amidst the Noise

e-Literate

What We Are Learning About Online Learning...Online

degrees of fiction

Mythopoetics, secondary English and early-career teaching

