The benefit of reading the fine print

I was asked today to do a task that required me to revamp my own position description. I had read this document some time ago (preparation for the interview) and had not revisited. So imagine my surprise when I found that well, I wasn’t doing my job.

I’ve been doing, what I think, some really important and interesting work in relationship building and identification of players in the eLearning space and some big thinking about what we can do to ensure longevity after the project is complete. All cool stuff (well, again, I think it’s cool).

More to the point I’ve had good feedback from the important people (the ones who can sack me) as well as from people that I’ve helped out along the way. So, the fine print. Now I’ve read it again I actually did what the first requirement of the position is today. I’ve emailed off the draft of the document and we’ll see what people think. I’m think it was a useful document to create and of course it’s a part of good project management – otherwise it wouldn’t have been required for the position. But in the grand scheme of what is trying to be achieved, does the fine print matter?

Someone said to me today (and I paraphrase), “MacDonald’s has a lot of processes and procedures because they have low expertise staff, the university traditionally has low level of processes and procedures (or not followed them) because the staff are amazingly competent and passionate about their work. The question is, what happens now where eLearning is a environment that requires good processes and procedures otherwise students and teachers can get left behind? In there lies the cultural shift.” Perhaps it is time to read the fine print.

Leave a Reply

The Piping Shrike

A perspective on Australian politics

Further Tales of Adventure From Our Glamorous Rural Lifestyle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

Fighters Circle

Examination of eLearning in higher education

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Connect. Lead. Change.

Reflections of an ICT teacher of the online generation.

Haas | Learning

Searching for Signals Amidst the Noise

e-Literate

What We Are Learning About Online Learning...Online

degrees of fiction

Mythopoetics, secondary English and early-career teaching

